A sign of my gluten free times

  I have been gluten free for over a year and a half now. As soon as I got my coeliac disease diagnosis I made the change and have not even been tempted to have a sneaky bit of gluten. 

Everything at home changed first. I made Dan eat up all the foods that were contaminated with gluten. He didn’t object to this much (until I was asking him to eat things like garlic granules). We doubled toastered for a while but soon realised that it was just easier for us both to eat gluten free bread. All cuttlery, crockery, utensils, bakeware and cooking equipment were scrubbed down and denominated. Our house became a gluten free zone. 

Shopping was the next challenge. The first few shopping trips after my diagnosis were a tragic affair. I spent hours picking up foods that I liked reading the ingredients and then silently sobbing because it had malt extract or some other obscure ingredient. Occasionally I’d find something I could have and a sarcastic voice would pop into my head and say, “Oooh yay, you can have Dolmio bolognese sauce, so it’s not all bad then!” (Yes the voice in my head is a different person to me and yes it is sarcastic 90% of the time. ) Over time these shopping trips became quicker and now I know exactly what I can and can’t have and my diet is back to what it was before.

Dan embraces it too. At home he eats gluten free with me, although he does whine about the gloopy pasta and shit bread. When we are out he is even better at it than me. If he thinks there has been a cross contamination issue he will raise it with the staff and amongst friends he is happy to tell them how it all works. It makes it super easy for me. 

However, because it is now all so easy for me, I have forgotten that I’m almost impossible to cater for. This week I’ve been invited for lunch at a new mummy friend’s house and to a BBQ with some people we have known a while but who have never cooked for us before. I accepted both invitations without hesitations. What can I say I’m a sucker for good company and good food. It wasn’t until later that I remembered that I am a dietary pain in the arse. 

Thankfully both these sets of friends are wonderfully accommodating and have agreed to try and cater for me anyway. I never expected this of anyone so I’m very grateful when people offer to try. I’m lucky to know such nice people! In future, I might start wearing a badge that warns people in advance but then I’d probably never get invited anywhere. Damn my stupid digestive system!

Leave a Reply

