“I don’t want her first word to be ‘boob’!”

Dan and I actually had this conversation. Emily was only a few weeks old and every time she was hungry we would say “Do you want some boob?” I think it started as a joke and we found it funny whilst sitting in our living room. However once we were out and about saying boob all the time didn’t really seem appropriate. It was still funny though. 

This is my way of talking about breastfeeding. It’s World Breastfeeding Week so seems like a good time to talk about it. Now I don’t intend for this to be a ‘My breastfeeding journey’ post but if it ends up that way I apologise. 

Talking about breastfeeding can be a sensitive issue but I am proud that I breastfeed. This does not mean that I judge those who choose to bottle feed or those who did it for less time than me or any judgement at all. If you made a choice not to breastfeed then this shouldn’t bother you. If you couldn’t breastfeed and you wanted to (even if you wanted to do it for longer) then I am sorry. I am sure that you will grieve about this in your own way. I wanted a natural birth but I got the exact opposite. This makes me sad but it should not stop you from feeling proud if you wanted it and got it. I am happy for those people. I’m sure it wasn’t easy. 

Breastfeeding isn’t easy either. We certainly didn’t have the hardest time but we still had our problems. For example: cracked nipples, bleeding nipples, blocked ducts, milk blister (these are f***ing painful), a tongue tied baby and all the usual baby things like cluster feeding and growth spurts. Honestly we still aren’t perfect, I have an overactive letdown so this causes some issues but we’ve made it work for us. 

We have some wonderful moments too. Sometimes she looks up and remembers that I’m there. This brings on a massive grin with nipple still in mouth. She promptly latches on again. Then looks up and smiles. One time this went on for about 20 minutes and we were both cracking up. Too cute. I love her little hands too. When she was really young she would pummel my boobs with tiny fists, now she will stroke them or hold on to it in a hug-like pose. I love every minute. 

Yesterday Emily and I went to our local Big Latch On. It was a great event and the organisers should be really proud of their efforts. The event was to raise money for our NICU so a wonderful cause. For the main event around 100 mothers with babies/children sat down to breastfeed. 

  
It was such an amazing experience. It was also very reassuring. Some people held their babies, some people held their boob, some people went hands free, some people had their babies on their laps, some people fed from a sling, some babies latched on and stayed on and some babies popped on and off. But everyone was breastfeeding. What a community!

The only downer was that I didn’t win anything on the raffle. I did however buy this necklace from Hey Twiddle Fiddle for Emily to play with whilst she is in her sling. 

  
And these tote bags which have “boobs” written on them. Hehe!

  
A good day was had by all and I have never been prouder to be a breastfeeding mummy. 

Leave a Reply

