My daughter must think she’s a twin!

All my family sleep in one room. We are cosleepers! Naturally Dan and I share a bed and Emily has a crib next to me. It’s cosy and convenient! When Emily wakes up at night I barely have to move to feed her and I’m off to sleep in no time at all. 

We were motivated to have Emily in our room initially because it lowers the risk of SIDS (sudden infant death syndrome) and this is something that terrifies me. It’s Dan’s fault! Dan is a SIDS near miss. When he was three months old he just stopped breathing and had to be resuscitated. Apparently it is genetic and there are other (distant) members of Dan’s family that have also been affected. Therefore I’m determined to do everything that they advise to prevent it. 

So Emily is in our room. And actually I love it. I barely have to get out of bed at night to feed her and I can pop her straight back in her cot once she’s done. I hear every movement which is reassuring but it also means that I can intervene at night before it escalates to full blown screams. Emily likes to be able to see me first thing in the morning when she wakes up and sometimes this is enough for her just get on a play for a bit. It’s win-win! I really don’t intend to move her out of our room until she is sleeping through the night, and the way things are going at the moment I don’t think that will be any time soon. 

  
The only annoying thing about this little set up is that her cot takes up rather a lot of space in our bedroom. Currently it is pushed against our wardrobe doors, which are mirrored. This is only a minor inconvenience to us though, and Emily loves it. She smiles and laughs at her reflection. It’s super cute to wake up to in the morning. She definitely thinks she’s got a twin sister though. Bless!

Leave a Reply

